Regular price$15.99
Shipping calculated at checkout.

Personnel: Chris Sprague (vocals, drums, percussion); Nick Lowe (vocals); Danny Amis, Greg Townson, Eddie Angel (guitar); Tucker Nelson (piano, organ, vibraphone, percussion); Geraint Watkins (piano, organ); Neil Brockbank (organ, xylophone, percussion); Pete Curry, Royston Lowe (percussion).
Audio Mixers: Tucker Nelson; Neil Brockbank.
Recording information: Goldtop Studio, London; The Pow Wow Fun Room, Mar Vista, CA.
Photographers: Dan Burn-Forti; Julie Green; David Barajas.
Having backed up Nick Lowe on his "Quality Holiday Revue" tour, masked instrumental rockers Los Straitjackets understand the virtues of The Greatest Living Englishman's songbook better than the average person. And while most people discussing Lowe's work focus on the wit and wisdom of his lyrics, the man can write a superior melody, and Los Straitjackets offer eloquent proof on their 2017 album, What's So Funny About Peace, Love and Los Straitjackets. This set offers a baker's dozen tunes from Lowe's catalog, ranging from early rockers like "Shake & Pop" and "Heart of the City" to smoother, more contemplative recent numbers like "I Read a Lot" and "Checkout Time," all interpreted in Los Straitjackets' trademark twangy style, borrowing from decades of instrumental rock styles and with no vocals to get in the way. Some of these arrangements follow Lowe's original recordings (especially "Half a Boy and Half a Man"), but more often Los Straitjackets put their own spin on the tunes, and generally they're quite effective. The folk-rock-ish spin on "(What's So Funny 'Bout) Peace Love and Understanding" sure fits the bill, and the roller-rink sound of "Rollers Show" makes for good musical fun and fine listening at once. The surfy ambience of "All Men Are Liars," the Duane Eddy-style charge through "Heart of the City," and the dreamy late-night mood of "You Inspire Me" demonstrate these guys can tackle a tune in any number of ways, and they seem especially inspired by taking on the challenge of Lowe's back catalog. If you've ever dug the cool but fiery retro sound of Los Straitjackets, What's So Funny... will once again remind you of their brilliant chops and sense of fun, while Nick Lowe fans will definitely want to give a listen to this homage to one of rock's best living songwriters. ~ Mark Deming

  • Handling Note: **Please allow an additional 72 hours for this item's shipment.**
  • Genre: Pop
  • Format Detail: CD
  • Internal ID: JITRE
  • Format: CD
  • Vinyl ships same day. Clothing is printed and shipped in order recieved!
  • Inventory on the way
$7 flat fee shipping for any number of records!

Please allow 1-3 weeks for packages to arrive! Order processing time is typically 1-3 business days with most orders shipping in 24 hours. Saturdays, Sundays and holidays are not business days. Shipping times may be slightly longer during peak holiday times.

This site is protected by reCAPTCHA and the Google Privacy Policy and Terms of Service apply.

You may also like